PDA

View Full Version : Collect All - your preference?



Nighteg
12-17-2014, 10:05 AM
Your preference?

fuzzy
12-17-2014, 10:13 AM
Wish there was setting just to turn it off like decorations. Then everyone can be happy

Weasel
12-17-2014, 10:18 AM
Wish there was setting just to turn it off like decorations. Then everyone can be happy

Precisely. Personally I'd prefer if the button did not collect robbed buildings, but a simple on/off toggle for the feature, regardless how it works, is much needed.

Max Power
12-17-2014, 10:33 AM
Agree on the toggle, although I am not sure it would be as simple as decorations.

Morgz
12-17-2014, 10:36 AM
I just wish it were a smaller button. I prefer to collect buildings one at time (most of the time). It's kind of large and cumbersome to scroll around while tapping each building. I have accidentally hit twice. I do have fat fingers tho.

I gotta admit, I thought I would NEVER use it...I did use it once or twice on purpose and thought it was nifty. But I do still wish it were smaller, and main preference is to collect individually.

TobysPaw
12-17-2014, 10:37 AM
Can someone enlighten me as to why you wouldn't want it to collect robbed buildings? What would be the main reason?

Max Power
12-17-2014, 10:39 AM
Can someone enlighten me as to why you wouldn't want it to collect robbed buildings? What would be the main reason?

It's been discussed in other threads, but some people want to leave certain building robbed for various reasons, like odd collection schedules, etc.

Morgz
12-17-2014, 10:39 AM
Can someone enlighten me as to why you wouldn't want it to collect robbed buildings? What would be the main reason?

Some people prefer to leave robbed buildings uncollected for 2 reasons that I know of:
1) the little dollar sign sometimes stays above them, people will still try to rob them and only get $1-$3, while wasting stamina
2) sometimes they want to synch up the timing of their collections, so they leave some uncollected until other buildings are due to collect -- then collect both at once.

TobysPaw
12-17-2014, 10:41 AM
okay I just figured the worst that can happen is you collect and it gets robbed again at which stage you're still up on what you would have been just by leaving it. Anyway I don't wanna go over old ground, I will have a read of the other threads, thx.

Nighteg
12-17-2014, 10:41 AM
Can someone enlighten me as to why you wouldn't want it to collect robbed buildings? What would be the main reason?

Anything below 24h collection cycle is collected as late as possible. So most of the day i need to try and avoid the big fat button in the middle of my screen.

Green Drake
12-17-2014, 10:43 AM
I do believe there are some higher iph players that have stopped collecting all but their 12 and 24 hour buildings.

SilentAssassin
12-17-2014, 10:44 AM
Agree on the toggle, although I am not sure it would be as simple as decorations.

The removal of the button would be pretty simple IMO
All they have to do is either toggle it off the screen which isn't hard to do, or if they want to take the ultimate shortcut, they could make it grey'd out.

They could also just deactivate it so it's still there, but clicking it won't do anything.

When wars start the functionality of the buttons change, so they've displayed they can do this via war and even via RB where the RB symbol pops up

General Dudus
12-17-2014, 10:50 AM
I just collect what I collect when rival list changed and everyone can camp your hood I prefer RL than messing about with setting timers ect now I can log in press one button And go.

TKxcite
12-17-2014, 10:51 AM
I like the collect all button especially when using my slow tablet. Some buildings i do not collect so as to hide smaller, higher income buildings like the fine gems so it would be nice to turn it off via a setting. Hopefully having all accounts on 1 device will reduce the need to hide these buildings- if I can ever get my other account re-linked to this google play acct.

Max Power
12-17-2014, 10:59 AM
The removal of the button would be pretty simple IMO
All they have to do is either toggle it off the screen which isn't hard to do, or if they want to take the ultimate shortcut, they could make it grey'd out.

They could also just deactivate it so it's still there, but clicking it won't do anything.

When wars start the functionality of the buttons change, so they've displayed they can do this via war and even via RB where the RB symbol pops up

Gotcha. We are thinking of a different toggle feature. It appears you are thinking of an on/off, I was thinking toggling between collect all/collect some.

SilentAssassin
12-17-2014, 11:36 AM
Gotcha. We are thinking of a different toggle feature. It appears you are thinking of an on/off, I was thinking toggling between collect all/collect some.

They can do that too
Just like the functionality of the calendar changes to the war screen during wars

bmnet
12-17-2014, 11:54 AM
This is a good idea IMHO

Morgz
12-17-2014, 12:04 PM
Some buildings i do not collect so as to hide smaller, higher income buildings like the fine gems so it would be nice to turn it off via a setting. Hopefully having all accounts on 1 device will reduce the need to hide these buildings- if I can ever get my other account re-linked to this google play acct.
I really don't mean to come off like a jerk...but serious question: Do you see people that are fooled by "hiding" buildings? I have see lots of hoods with good paying small buildings tucked in behind hotels or other big buildings...even ones where the little dollar signs somewhat line up. However in my opinion that is pretty easy to spot when robbing, and a sure sign to me to go tap on and around those dollar signs to see what building is hiding.

The only thing that has come close to "getting" me is when someone "hides" a regular gun store or tatoo parlor, making it look like it might be a shooters guns or mikes tattoos. But even then it is still just a single tap to check.

FlyMeMoon
12-17-2014, 12:53 PM
Hiding. Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. Depends on lots of things like size of brain, time, eyesight and a few other things I can't be bothered to think of.

I hardly ever have all my buildings collected. Its very rare. This button is useless to me but I understand its a popular request. A toggle would be cool but I could live with a smaller one.

John_Locke
12-17-2014, 01:27 PM
If you want to collect specific buildings, it takes less time to collect from a select group than it does to create a thread about it. It's confusing to me why the developers would spend the time to create such a trivial addition to the game to save players 15 seconds while leaving much larger problems, not just unsolved, but wholly unanswered.

Weasel
12-17-2014, 01:47 PM
If you want to collect specific buildings, it takes less time to collect from a select group than it does to create a thread about it. It's confusing to me why the developers would spend the time to create such a trivial addition to the game to save players 15 seconds while leaving much larger problems, not just unsolved, but wholly unanswered.

I think the intent was not as focused on saving players 15 seconds as it was on reducing ticket volume. This game lags, frequently, badly, and for variable durations of time. This has apparently resulted in many impatient or "fat-fingered" players unintentionally selling buildings and then creating a support ticket hoping to have the building restored. Since Gree no longer reinstates sold buildings, citing the confirmation button as proof that any building sold was sold intentionally, they really could do without the volume of tickets that were a direct result of this issue.

Rather than create an entirely new feature that will be unused and unwanted by many, they could have just fixed the user interface so that confirmation screens/buttons do not appear on the screen in the exact location the last tap was made. They also could have made use of the currently useless building storage feature that they introduced without having any actual purpose for it. Any building removed from one's hood could go into storage, and only from there could it then be sold.

I suspect, however, the only frustrations Gree are interested in reducing or eliminating are their own. If only it weren't the equivalent of speaking to a brick wall when attempting to explain to Gree that many of their frustrations are a direct result of frustrations involved in the player experience.

smokey77
12-18-2014, 03:02 AM
Thats actually a pretty good idea re the buildings going into storage first . I`ve got a funny feeling that the store might come into use now though with the accomplices or the new building thats allegedly on the way .

sister morphine
12-18-2014, 03:15 AM
Thats actually a pretty good idea re the buildings going into storage first . I`ve got a funny feeling that the store might come into use now though with the accomplices or the new building thats allegedly on the way .
The buildings section in MW is used as an inventory in the same way as for your weapons, armour and stuff - sorting can be alphabetical, newest to oldest, income/defence value.

I've always presumed that's how it will work in CC. The idea of putting a building in storage is weird.

Nighteg
12-18-2014, 03:26 AM
Thats actually a pretty good idea re the buildings going into storage first . I`ve got a funny feeling that the store might come into use now though with the accomplices or the new building thats allegedly on the way .

There are no new buildings on the way, only 1. Apparently they've changed their mind.

smokey77
12-18-2014, 03:29 AM
Weird maybe , but just temporarily to save buildings being sold off accidentally as weasel suggested . It might actually help if a mod or someone from the development team could enlighten people more on these features :rolleyes:

Joe_V
12-18-2014, 04:53 AM
Gotcha. We are thinking of a different toggle feature. It appears you are thinking of an on/off, I was thinking toggling between collect all/collect some.

I want it all... option to select all or robbed and display or keep out of the screen.

Konan-Barbarian
12-18-2014, 05:46 AM
My preference is to have an option to hide from view (yes disabled) this HIDEOUS LARGE RED BUTTON blocking view of my city.

If it has to be there, make it smaller and move it to the bottom edge.

I don't plan to use it (in any of the games), I like to know what I'm doing and which buildings I'm getting money from as opposed to just blindly tapping one button to do everything, Where's the fun in that. Also too I don't collect specific buildings, say one that finished upgrading, because I want to wait until a specific time so it is back in my schedule and I collect it with all the other buildings. Collect all is basically useless to me.

As for the poll, if it has to be there it needs to collect robbed buildings too, they do have income left, so as of now, collect all income does not collect all income.

Konan-Barbarian
12-18-2014, 05:51 AM
Can someone enlighten me as to why you wouldn't want it to collect robbed buildings? What would be the main reason?

I don't sometimes collect a specific building. I collect on a schedule, say all 24hr buildings at once. If one finishes an upgrade and is out of sync with my others, I wait until it is in sync with the other 24hr buildings, and it's a good chance it gets robbed between the time it finishes and the time I want it to be ready. So I let it sit there until such time. I may play during that time, so collect all, if it did collect robbed buildings, would not be usable at that time.

Weasel
12-18-2014, 07:30 AM
The idea of putting a building in storage is weird.

Other games do it and it's a fantastic feature. Another benefit of being able to do this in Crime City would be seen by those with a full hood and no more land who want to rearrange buildings but can't due to space limitations. They'd be able to store some buildings to make room, move whatever they want, and put the other buildings back when they're finished.

It may "sound weird", but I cannot see any negatives to this and it comes with several benefits. It would make it more difficult to accidentally sell buildings, it would make it easier for those with full hoods to rearrange their buildings, and it might even help to prevent some unnecessary support tickets being opened which could improve response times for everyone.

And back on topic, I fully agree with Konan-Barbarian.

Max Power
12-18-2014, 08:16 AM
I don't sometimes collect a specific building. I collect on a schedule, say all 24hr buildings at once. If one finishes an upgrade and is out of sync with my others, I wait until it is in sync with the other 24hr buildings, and it's a good chance it gets robbed between the time it finishes and the time I want it to be ready. So I let it sit there until such time. I may play during that time, so collect all, if it did collect robbed buildings, would not be usable at that time.

Did the same thing with an updated Casino this morning. I just collected manually. Not really a big deal.

Winnson
12-18-2014, 10:31 AM
An observation: The 'collect all' button is awesome and a huge convenience, but with it, I don't really have to look at my hood anymore. I just see how much I raked in.

I think one of the big 'hooks' of this game was that you doted on your hood so much. Now we don't have to do that, we just push a button if we want.

That might make me not so attached to my hood I think, because now it's just a number, and not something I dote on all the time.

I guess we'll see.

Max Power
12-18-2014, 10:37 AM
So, you doted on your hood because you "had" to look at it?

I will grant you permission to continue doting on your hood, or even collect manually, for that matter.

1Shot
12-18-2014, 11:53 AM
The collect all button is awesome. One of my favorite parts of the update ;)

Green Drake
12-18-2014, 11:57 AM
The collect all button is awesome. One of my favorite parts of the update ;)
But would you trade the button for a game that is actually playable again?

fan139
12-18-2014, 02:45 PM
I love this button, it saves me time everyday, and it tells you how much your collecting which is the best part

Nighteg
12-18-2014, 03:34 PM
I love this button, it saves me time everyday, and it tells you how much your collecting which is the best part

No it doesn't.

smokey77
12-18-2014, 10:53 PM
It tells you how much you're collecting without the button as well! I see no attempt was made to answer questions about the button in the AMA so looks like we'll be stuck with it.

Green Drake
12-18-2014, 11:05 PM
No attempt was made to answer any question in the AMA. Feel like they cut and pasted the response that the support team tenders. Vague. Very vague.

smokey77
12-19-2014, 12:51 AM
No attempt was made to answer any question in the AMA. Feel like they cut and pasted the response that the support team tenders. Vague. Very vague.

Not true , we now know that that is Engram in his profile picture someone asked that and got an answer . Beyond a joke really but thats Gree for you .

Max Power
12-19-2014, 06:36 AM
It tells you how much you're collecting without the button as well! I see no attempt was made to answer questions about the button in the AMA so looks like we'll be stuck with it.

Looking at survey results, I don't see them changing function, but I bet they shrink it to MW size.

smokey77
12-19-2014, 06:52 AM
Looking at survey results, I don't see them changing function, but I bet they shrink it to MW size.

Heres hoping its at least shrunk then , but in the AMA and on general forum theres been no mention of it , but then I suppose they are busy with other stuff atm time will tell I guess .

John_Locke
12-19-2014, 10:20 AM
No it doesn't.

It does with me. Collected from my 12s and instead of getting a number for each building, I got one number telling me how much all those buildings added up to.

Nighteg
12-19-2014, 11:21 AM
It does with me. Collected from my 12s and instead of getting a number for each building, I got one number telling me how much all those buildings added up to.

Probably another iOS/droid distinction.

Oh_TheHorror
12-19-2014, 12:07 PM
I haven't used it yet. It just seems like an unnecessary feature to me. Was it really that hard and time consuming to click on each building? If you were outraged that you had to click on each individual building to collect your money, you truly a lazy piece of $h!t. Plenty of other things in the game need to be fixed. A "collect all" button seems like it should have been really low on the list of priorities.

Weasel
12-19-2014, 01:39 PM
I haven't used it yet. It just seems like an unnecessary feature to me. Was it really that hard and time consuming to click on each building? If you were outraged that you had to click on each individual building to collect your money, you truly a lazy piece of $h!t. Plenty of other things in the game need to be fixed. A "collect all" button seems like it should have been really low on the list of priorities.

Gree only designed it to reduce ticket volume. No other reason or they would have added options such as, "hide collect all income button on/off", or "collect all income button collects robbed buildings on/off".

If they can add options to toggle weather and parallax effects, they certainly have the ability to release a better than half-assed feature that will go completely unused by so many people. The fact they didn't do that says enough.

smokey77
12-19-2014, 01:49 PM
The first thing I do when I use crime city on my mobile is reduce the screen size and this button gets in the way of that then continues to get in the way . Imo it needs to be shrunk and put to a side or available to toggle as suggested , preferably the latter :eek: